Black blouse embroidered with white flowers

I embroidered white flowers on this wool crepe blouse.

emb1

I made this blouse some time ago, but I decided that I didn’t like it being so plain. Plus, I really wanted to do some embroidery, and this shirt was the perfect victim. Here is what it looked like before:

emb2

The embroidery patterns are from the same book as the Goldfish bag. As usual, I didn’t follow the directions for the type of thread or the stitch. I used a pretty thick pearl cotton thread and relied on my elementary grasp of running stitch and satin stitch. And when I say “elementary” I mean that my stitching is almost as good as my Mom’s was when she learned embroidery in the 3rd grade.

I also made up a way to transfer the pattern to the black fabric. I couldn’t use chalk paper or white pencil because the marks wouldn’t stay on the fabric. So I traced the pattern onto pattern paper and literally basted on the pattern lines with regular sewing thread and then tore off the paper. Well, it worked!

Details of the embroidery:

emb3

emb4

emb5

About Inge

I'm a technical writer who loves to sew, make jewelry, and do other types of crafts.
This entry was posted in sewing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Black blouse embroidered with white flowers

  1. It’s really cute

    Like

Leave a comment