Wide leg pants!

I was so inspired by the success of the shorts I made, that I took the plunge on pants. I don’t think I’ve ever had a pair of wide leg pants that fit properly, so I am very pleased with the results of these!

IMG_3967

I used the Juniper pattern from Colette. As always, I was very happy with the instructions and the accompanying diagrams. I need those pictures! And, after 25 years of technical writing, I can recognize a well-written procedure. The only thing I stumbled over were the instructions to clip the curved seam and then finish the raw edges. How are you supposed to finish clipped, curved edges?! With the pinking shears, that’s how!

IMG_3999

I can’t say that I’m super satisfied with the fly, but it works. The waistband was supposed to overlap more and have hooks instead of button, but I didn’t like that as much. Maybe I went a bit wild with the fancy buttons, but hey, they’re grey pants, they need something!

IMG_3998

Of course, I had to adjust the rise to achieve the right amount of bagginess. The fabric is a very light-weight denim. I love the subtle variation in color.

IMG_3972

Nice deep pockets!

IMG_3971

These are the perfect pants for summer, so light and airy. Maybe this winter I’ll try some wool pants…

IMG_3969

About Inge

I'm a technical writer who loves to sew, make jewelry, and do other types of crafts.
This entry was posted in sewing, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

