Bias-cut top and shorts

Although I’ve made garments on the bias before, I wasn’t very successful, because I didn’t do the proper prep work.

I recently tried on a camisole and shorts sleep set at Anthropologie and thought they were really cute, but the price was ridiculous. So I decided to make a set myself. I really liked the way the bias cut camisole draped.

I bought some very thin cotton from Stonemountain & Daughter Fabrics. I had a knit camisole that was similar to the one I wanted to make, so I made a pattern from it and tried it out in muslin.

Then I did some research! I found a great blog post:  A guide to working on the bias. I followed their directions, mostly.

First, I put thin strips of interfacing along the edges, instead of stay stitching.

IMG_3958

I did French seams on the sides, made bias tape for the top edge, and left the bottom raw, except for a stretch stitch a half an inch from the bottom so that the fraying won’t get out of hand. And I made thin straps that I had to turn inside out: the worst part of the whole process!

IMG_3960

I added a bit to trim to top of the front.

IMG_3961

I’m happy with the side seams–no puckering!

IMG_3962

The back is structured so that the straps won’t fall off my shoulders.

And of course, I made shorts, but not on the bias. I put elastic in the waistband; the drawstring is just sewn on for decoration.

IMG_3959

These will be perfect when I go down to the desert later this July!

About Inge

I'm a technical writer who loves to sew, make jewelry, and do other types of crafts.
This entry was posted in sewing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bias-cut top and shorts

  1. I love it!! That trim is great!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

